top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanThuy

Easy Personal Jalapeño "Quiches"


Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 20 minutes

Total time: 35 minutes


Servings: 4


There are a few times I've found myself with extra pie dough in the fridge. I'm not a fan of actual pie so I like to turn it into something savory for breakfast. Turn a pie dough (even pre-made) into little personal quiches for a fancy but low touch brunch idea. Substitute jalapeños for whatever you have in the fridge.


Pros: quick version of a quiche

Cons: not traditional "custard" texture


Ingredients:

  • 1 pie dough (mine was pre-made)

  • 4 eggs

  • 1/4 cup of cheese

  • 1/4 cup of whole milk/cream

  • 1 jalapeño (deseeded, chopped)

  • Salt

  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

  • Oil/spray

  • Herbs (Optional)

 
  1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.

  2. Roll out your pie dough. If you're using a homemade dough, shape and cut the dough into the appropriate sized crusts. I was using a 6 inch mini loaf plan so I cut my pre-made pie dough into quarters. Then I cut and remolded the pieces into rectangles with a bit of engineering! Use all of the dough.

  3. Spray or oil your pans and press the dough into the loaf pans. I did a bit more molding to ensure the edges were even height. Prick your dough with a fork!

  4. In a bowl, mix your eggs, cream, and cheese. I used Mexican blend but have also used queso blanco and parmesan! The latter is really yummy. Add in your chopped jalapeño, a heavy pinch of salt, and garlic powder.

  5. Bake for about 20 minutes (middle rack) or until your eggs are set and the crust is golden brown.

  6. Serve as is or with a side of ketchup (if you're Andy) or herbs (if you're me). I love this combo with dill or parsley.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page